Last updated May 28th 2020.

Clubs, golfers, volunteers, and administration staff have been recognised for their contribution to golf in New Zealand at the 2019 National Golf Awards this week.

An independent judging panel that included members of the Professional Golfers Association (PGA), General Managers Association (GMA), media, former high-profile golfers, Sport New Zealand, and New Zealand Golf convened online to decide the winners and finalists from over 120 nominees for their respective categories.

12 winners over 12 refreshed categories for 2019 were eventually found with some new and familiar names all being recognised for their efforts.

One of the most sought-after awards is the ‘Club of the Year’, where a club needs to display innovation, inclusion, community impact, and use of New Zealand Golf initiatives and growth.

After careful deliberation, it was decided that Waitemata Golf Club in Auckland was to take out the prestigious ‘Club of the Year’ award by the narrowest of margins over finalists Russley Golf Club and Manawatu Golf Club.

Waitemata Golf Club General Manager Hayden McCallum is ecstatic with the news and is proud of how far the golf club has come.

“It feels amazing. There has been a lot of hard work at the club over the last few years. We have come a long way and made some big changes. I know all of our staff, the board, and our members will be really proud. We’ll celebrate this for sure.

“We implemented a strategic plan a few years ago that reflected where we wanted to go as a golf club, and the values we thought were important; those being inclusion and growing a strong community connection. We have seen a strong flow on effect from this with increased membership and a strong junior program.

“We couldn’t be happier with our progress and the award is certainly a nice piece of feedback after the hard work,” McCallum says.

A new category for 2019 was the ‘Leader of the Year’ award which was implemented to recognise golf managers, administrators, association leaders, and all other leadership positions in golf who help lead and grow the game in New Zealand.

Matt Smith’s leadership of DotGolf has earned him the award, and is something he feels very honoured to have received.

“I didn’t even know I had been nominated! It’s really cool, I’m very proud to accept this award on behalf of my team. I see this award as a product of what DotGolf has been able to achieve.

“I’m a big believer in setting clear objectives, empowering others, and establishing relationships. The team all take ownership of what they do which makes job as a leader very easy.

“It’s a real privilege to be able to lead such an awesome group of people. Our team extends all the way to our board, our staff, and New Zealand Golf,” Smith says.

The finalists in this category were Hayden McCallum (Waitemata Golf Club) and Warren Collett (Manawatu Golf Club).

New Zealand Golf congratulates all winners and finalists of the 2019 National Golf Awards for their service and efforts for golf in New Zealand.

Thank you to our valued partners at Hyundai NZ, Laithwaites Wine, Srixon, Bushnell, and The Loop Duty Free for their support of the 2019 National Golf Awards.

Full List of winners:

–       Club of the Year: Waitemata Golf Club. Finalists: Manawatu Golf Club, Russley Golf Club.

–       Leader of the Year: Matt Smith. Finalists: Hayden McCallum, Warren Collett.

–       Event of the Year: 100th New Zealand Open. Finalists: Waitemata She Love’s Golf 6’s, Jennian Homes Charles Tour Carrus Open.

–       Professional Golfer of the Year: Ryan Fox. Finalists: Danny Lee, Lydia Ko.

–       Male Amateur of the Year: Daniel Hillier

–       Female Amateur of the Year: Amelia Garvey

–       All Abilities Athlete of the Year: Mitchell Brown. Finalists: Parker Aluesi, Nathan Child.

–       Professional Coach of the Year: Marcus Wheelhouse. Finalists: Rodney Yee, Jacques Nortje.

–       Community Coach of the Year: Stuart Thompson. Finalists: Rodney Yee, Mary Gard’ner

–       Volunteer of the Year: Robyn Boniface. Finalists: Terry Dowson, Glenn Corbett

–       Environmental Club of the Year: Remuera Golf Club.

–       Performance of the Year: Ryan Fox. Finalists: Kazuma Kobori, Sir Bob Charles.

New Zealand golfer Daniel Hillier is the 2019 Male Golf Amateur of the Year.